Standish and Preece, Christchurch Photographers
Canterbury Museum Friends Talk
In 1885, Frank Berry Standish and Alfred Ernest Lyttelton Preece founded the studio Standish and Preece. Their partnership only lasted 5 years but the business lasted 135 years, making it New Zealand’s longest-running photography studio.
Canterbury Museum 1990.358.2741
Opening on 9 July, the Museum's exhibition Standish and Preece: Christchurch Photographers 1885 – 2020 showcases how the studio's photographs document the changing faces of Cantabrians as well as the changing business of photography.
In this free public talk at the Friends of Cantebury Museum coffee morning, the exhibition's curator Dr Jill Haley will discuss the studio's history, her role in developing the exhibition and the trends she has observed in the Standish and Preece collection.
Jill will be joined by Curator Special Projects Dan Stirland, who will talk about the Museum's project to catalogue and digitise the approximately 75,000 negatives in the Standish and Preece collection.
Hosted by the Friends of Canterbury Museum.
This talk is free but places are limited so please register (button below) if you are keen to attend.